I don’t follow the weather, so I was surprised to see my backyard a flurry of white this morning.  Surprised, and excited.  Born and raised in Indiana, I’ve been conditioned to love a snow day. Though I had things to do at the studio today (of course I did, there’s always LOTS to do at the studio), there was nothing really pressing.  Plus, the roads were bad and the community kilns wouldn’t be running.  Today was a great day to stay home.

Image

Now this isn’t the kind of winter weather that would shut things down in my hometown, but here in Middle Tennessee, the possibility of accumulation sets the school closings in motion.  Roads get slick quick and those hills can be treacherous.  And so very pretty.

So I decided that in addition to catching up on some paperwork, I’d fill my day with little luxuries.  First, a very long soak in the whirlpool tub, complete with a good book, essential oils, and one of my favorite candles.

Image

Next, deliciously decadent candies.

Image

Followed by reading in front of the fire.  An all time fave.

Image

This day has been a celebration of simple pleasures and I’ve relished each one.  Now for some air popped popcorn with Amish butter and sea salt. And probably some hot cocoa with marshmallow fluff. Then more reading. What a happy ending.

