One of my favorite things about working for myself is the flexibility it gives me in my schedule. I am sure you’ll hear me talk about this a lot because it is vital to my creative life. I am able to prioritize each day as I see fit, attending first to the people and things most important to me. In this case, it is my sister. This is a picture of us at my wedding.

Mel & Michelle

Mel & Michelle

Now, you may be thinking we don’t look much alike. We’re not related by blood, but we became sisters when my mom and her dad got married a few years ago. We were both in our early twenties when we met and neither of us had a sister before. What a gift we have been given. I couldn’t possibly love this gal more if I’d known her my whole life.

On November 1, 2013, Michelle was diagnosed with Hodgkins Lymphoma. For the next few months she has chemo therapy every other Friday, so I made a trip to my home state of Indiana to be with her during one of her sessions. We talked non-stop for three hours and it was so good to catch up. Afterwards, I drove her home and made supper, then took her beautiful daughters with me for a slumber party at our parents house. These days are full of precious memories.

Mel and Michelle at Thanksgiving

Mel and Michelle at Thanksgiving

Thanksgiving 2013

Thanksgiving 2013

If you’d like to read more about Michelle and her journey, check out her blog here.

