After returning from vacation I embarked on what I refer to as a season of extreme self care.   For the first time in my life I had the freedom to fill my entire day, week, month(!) with endeavors of my choice.

So what did I do? I took walks, slept, met dozens of friends for incredible conversation, read, slept, took a pottery class, spent time with family, got into some great counseling and slept. Man, did I sleep! Amidst the beauty of carte blanche, transitioning from a “human doing” to a “human being” wasn’t as natural as I had envisioned.

Still, I could sense God’s purpose in the unwinding.  I was learning to be still and know He is God.  I was listening for the next steps instead of barreling ahead. I began finding joy in the very simplest things.  In fact, I had to keep myself from laughing out loud one morning at the grocery store because I was so GIDDY to be there, solo, buying food at 10 am with absolutely no other care in the world and no other plan for the day. Seriously. Happy.

I was given the gift of time and finally, gratefully, I accepted.  The fog began to lift. Life was starting to feel fun again.  Full of possibilities.  God was restoring my soul.  He had something new in store for me…

Forget the former things. Do not dwell on the past. See I am doing a NEW THING! Now it springs up! Do you not perceive it?”
Isaiah 43: 18-19

