A single significant moment can forever change the way we measure time. Birth, death, union, graduation, natural disaster. Or perhaps something less offiicial, not likely to make the evening news. A word spoken, a wrong turn or promise not kept. The shift occurs in the blink of an eye and redefines reality for an individual, a family, a community, a nation.

One year ago today, September 10, 2009, I experienced such a moment. While it’s hard to pinpoint the exact tick of the clock, I’m sure I could come close.  I’d been blissfully blogging about the finer points of my better half, celebrating and enjoying our 7th year of marriage. Then, a pivotal moment arrived.  He came home hours late, after the sun had risen. The second time I asked where he’d been he was truthful in his answer, “I was with someone”.  The rush of emotion is crystallized in my psyche. My legs refused to support me under the weight of despair. My world tilted on it’s axis and a chain of events was set in motion that boggles my mind to this day.

My marriage ended. I haven’t blogged since. I’ve barely crafted in the last 12 months. Most self expression ceased.

In what now seems like a moment, a whole year has passed. I wasn’t sure where and how to pick up on my blog. I considered ditching the whole thing and starting over, and decided not to erase what was. Those days and thoughts and feelings were just as real and valid as today.  I want to remember them, not pretend they never happened. They shaped and refined me and I honor them as part of my story. The truth has changed how I move forward, but doesn’t change the past.

And so today, I breathe deeper. I stare longer, hug tighter, cry easier and love more people than I did just a year ago.  I’m excited to see what God has in store for me.  Because a moment is just that.  And a lot can happen in one year.

